top of page

Sound Performance, Shaun Project Space - Critique/Analysis.


For this critique, I decided that I had to stop doubting myself, letting my anxiety get the upper hand, and performed a live sound piece that I had composed the night before, forcing myself out of my comfort zone. It really paid off for me, as I received a lot of praise and constructive criticism from my peers, boosting my confidence and enthusiasm in both my practice and myself.

I used a variety of effects pedals (delay, distortion and volume.) and played a sound loop in the key of F sharp minor, as it played, I layered more and more sounds into the mix, including the use of a screwdriver to simulate a guitar slide. The sound engulfed the entire room and created a very emotional atmosphere, that some were very moved by.

For the visual aspect, I created an experimental music map that sat above me as I played, using crescendos to resemble the fades, the thick line to visualise the chord progression, and dash symbols to replicate the scales being played, I felt it worked well in visualising the song, but more work needs to be done on the visual side of the pieces I make, the use of print should help in this endeavour.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page