top of page

Stage 3 Research: J. Grant Brittain.

"I borrowed my roommates camera, he loaded the film for me. I didn't know how to load the film. I didn't know what to do, he said: 'Just make sure the suns behind you, match the needle with the f stops and the shutter.' I shot one roll of film and got two good shots. Then I started shooting as a hobby, I barely had money for film." -J. Grant Brittain.

Grant Brittain is a skate photographer well known for his iconic documentation of skateboardings' rise in popularity, after its near-demise in the early 1970s. Similar to Craig Stecyk, Brittain documented skateboarding as both a sport and an art/cultural movement, the difference being he had no formal training.

It wasn't until he picked up his roommates camera and shot his first roll of film that he became encapsulated by skate photography. Despite dwindling funds and a lack of public interest, he continued studying and purchasing film, producing iconic images that are still referenced today. It is his creative determination that inspires me, alongside the composition and wide-angles in his photography.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page