top of page

Theory and Context: Dick Hebdige.


"Style in subculture is, then, pregnant with significance. Its transformations go 'against nature', interrupting the process of 'normalisation'. As such, they are gestures, movements towards a speech which offends the 'silent majority', which challenges the principle of unity and cohesion, which contradicts the myth of consensus. " -Hebdige, D. (1987), 'Subculture: The Meaning of Style', Routledge.

Reading Hebdige's book ('Subculture: The Meaning of Style') has helped develop both my critical thinking and studio practice, this quote in particular gave my project more direction and structure; what do I want to communicate through my work?

Style in subcultures helps people deviate from the norm, it can give them the tools they need to develop their identity. Laying a foundation of personality that can be built upon with the group/community backing them up. It happened to me through skating, it gave me a purpose.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page