top of page

Stage 3 Research: Jeremy Deller.

"Labels are rubbish, so I try not to agree with them – or anything for that matter when it comes to art and the making of it. The themes that recur in my work are simply whatever interests me: music, history, the history of music, old things, people, and so on. It’s all subject to change though." - Jeremy Deller

(https://www.cassart.co.uk/blog/jeremy_deller.htm)

'Sacrilege' (2012)

Mixed media, dimensions variable.

'The History of the World' (1997 - 2004)

Graphite and acrylic paint on wall, dimensions variable.

The Battle of Orgreave Archive (2001)

Wall painting, paint on fibreboard, vinyl text, map, books, jacket, shield, printed papers, 2 videos and audio. Video, projection, colour and sound. Dimensions variable.

Jeremy Deller (b.1966) is an English conceptual, video and installation artist known for his large-scale collaborative pieces. I have become heavily invested in his practice for several reasons; mainly the strong political and cultural aspects of his work and how he creates an atmospheric experience for the viewer.

For example, in 'The Battle of Orgreave' (2001), Deller recreated this event like a war reenactment, collaborating with people who participated in it first-hand; its clear that creating a memorable and true experience that reflects certain ideas or events is important to Deller. I need to start collaborating with others and expanding my horizons if I want these qualities in my own practice.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page