top of page

Statement of Intent.

I have decided, after going through several conflicting project ideas, to test myself as an artist, with a contemporary practice that I have been wanting to explore for a long time. I would like to experiment with both sound and visual art, finding a dynamic that combines both practices in order to create original pieces of work. I feel that I haven't pushed myself hard enough creatively in stage two, and creating a project that thoroughly challenges me, taking me out of my comfort zone, will help develop me as an artist, pushing my practice to new levels. I have been wanting to experiment with sound in my practice for a long time, and I know that I can create varied, interesting work by incorporating it into my practice.

Sound, performance and video art seem to be the main practices that I want to implement in this project, but I also want to explore printmaking and digital software, such as "Photoshop" and "After Effects", programs that I have some experience with, that have a lot to offer creatively. Printmaking could be utilised very effectively in this project, as I could create reusable symbols and shapes, that could be printed to create experimental music maps/notation. Video and installation art could also be included to further enhance the atmospheres/ambiences that I create, both visual and audible.

I am heavily influenced by gallery and exhibition visits, both contemporary and historical, so they will be a necessity throughout this project, I will also need to research artists with similar practices that relate to my project (Susan Philipsz, Franko B, etc.), but I will also need to branch out and find artists who combine different practices to create work (mixed media), artists who use print will also be very helpful throughout my professional practice. Tutorials with tutors that I do not normally go to for advice will be a good influence as I will need as many different, varying opinions about my work as possible to find out what needs improving. Developing my skills in digital software will be essential, especially if I choose to implement video installation into my work, and I need to brush up on printmaking processes, such as lino, dry-etching and screen printing.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page