top of page

Artist Research: Nevin Aladağ.


Video Still, "Traces", 2017.

Video Still, "Traces", 2017.

Video Still, "Traces", 2017.

Video Still, "Traces", 2017.

Nevin Aladağ, a German-based artist originating from Turkey, is an artist that utilises a wide array of materials, techniques and processes, ranging from installation and sculpture to video and performance art. I discovered Aladağ during my "Art In Context" lecture, our class was given a presentation on the work presented at the 2017 Venice Biennale, and her work featured, a three-way video installation named, "Traces", captivated me the most.

The video consists of various instruments being played by the town itself, utilising the landscape and objects to create the sounds, this unique concept was what really excited me and sparked various ideas as to how I could replicate an idea similar to this in my own project. I also appreciated the composition of the shots and placement of the camera, utilising depth of field, the rule of thirds and multiple perspectives effectively mirrors the time and effort it must have taken to create the sounds.

This installation is a perfect balance of sound and video, it doesn't compromise one aspect to enhance another, and I admire that, it's difficult to combine both sound and visuals equally, which is a problem i'm facing in my own practice, this is most likely the reason why I enjoyed this piece so much, because of how it captivated me and peaked my interest.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page