top of page

Printmaking: Lino and Chine Collé.


After watching the documentary on Robert Rauschenberg, and researching John Cage's use of experimental music notation, I decided to experiment with printmaking, using different geometric shapes, line, letters and symbols associated with music notation. The clean, block-like finish was intentional, but I was also able to let loose with the cutter and create some interesting line by shaking my hand or digging the cutter at different levels (top left, above the sharp symbol).

The goal was to create some kind of key for notation, inking certain parts of the lino for the desired symbol, or scanning it into Photoshop to separate them, which would spare some money, inks are expensive. Printing onto newspaper creates an interesting effect visually, creeping through the negative space. I could use this concept by finding objects at the locations where I recorded the sound (Roker Beach, City Centre etc.), and print the notation onto it, seems like an interesting idea I could work on.

The "chine collé" process was suggested by the print technician, she gave me some tissue paper and newsprint to experiment with, the vibrant colours bleeding through the shapes is appealing to me, how it leaves an imprint on the paper, even though it wasn't intentional. The colour could be used to represent different sound textures or emotions expressed in the music, a key to help the audience understand the method to the madness that is visual notation.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page