top of page

Glitch Art/Data Bending in Audacity.


After talking with one of the technicians about my work, I decided to experiment with "data bending". This technique consists of converting images into sound using audio software (audacity in my case), editing them and then exporting them back into images.

As you can see, this results in work with a distorted, grainy and fragmented quality, I found that adding reverb and echo effects to the file created the most interesting effects (the 4th down being my favourite!).

The problem with this process is it's unreliable, sometimes the image will not be distorted enough, and will just look like it's been stretched, other times the file will just not convert back into a readable image file and corrupt completely.

It's a tricky process, but if you can look past the issues you can create some cool digital work that's been damaged (in a good way!).


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page